Mayor John Cooper Appoints Nashvillians to Christmas Day Special Review Committee

Nashville — Mayor John Cooper today appointed seven Nashvillians to Metro’s Christmas Day Special Review Committee.

They include downtown property owners, community partners and public safety experts who will review and investigate the circumstances of the December 25 Christmas Day blast and potentially recommend improvements, procedures, or policy changes.

“From this tragedy, we have an opportunity to learn and become stronger,” Mayor Cooper said. “These Nashvillians bring expertise, experience, and diverse perspectives to this committee. I’m grateful for their service.”

Mayor Cooper’s appointees:

Jamie Hollin: principal at the Law Office of Jamie Hollin and a former Metro Councilmember for District 5.

Andrés Martinez: director of policy and communications at Conexión Américas and chair of Nashville’s Community Oversight Board.

Leshuan Oliver: Captain – Vanderbilt University Police Department and member of Mayor Cooper’s Policing Policy Commission.

Brenda Sanderson: downtown resident and co-owner of The Stage, Legends Corner, and the Second Fiddle in downtown Nashville.

Paul G. Summers: attorney, former senior judge on the Tennessee Supreme Court, and former Tennessee attorney general.

Darrell Talbert: president of Icon Entertainment Group, which owns and operates the Johnny Cash Museum, Patsy Cline Museum, Nudie’s Honky Tonk, House of Cards, Skull’s Rainbow Room, and the Johnny Cash Kitchen & Saloon in downtown Nashville. Mr. Talbert also is a member of Mayor Cooper’s Policing Policy Commission.

Margie Quin: CEO of End Slavery Tennessee, law enforcement veteran, and member of Mayor Cooper’s Policing Policy Commission.

In addition to these candidates, Vice Mayor Jim Shulman has appointed Councilmember Jennifer Gamble, Chair of the Metro Council Public Safety Committee, and Mario Avila, founding director of the Turner Family Center for Social Ventures at Vanderbilt University.

On February 16, Metro Council created the committee by ordinance (BL2021-612).

The committee is separate and independent of the After Action Review panel that Metro Police Chief John Drake established in January.

Facebook Comments

Must Read

Related Articles